Happy Birthday Puerto Vallarta

Today, on May the 31st, the beach town that has adopted me, Puerto Vallarta in México, celebrates its’ birthday.

Happy Birthday Puerto Vallarta!
¡Feliz Cumpleaños Puerto Vallarta!
Joyeux Anniversaire Puerto Vallarta!

Puerto Vallarta Conchas Chinas

 

I was not born in Puerto Vallarta! (although I have many friends that believe it so) and as a definition I consider myself more like a citizen of the world. But when somebody asks me to tell something about my city, I always talk about my roots in my home city but end up talking about the city where I belong now which is Puerto Vallarta. Puerto Vallarta might be a heavenly holiday spot for people seeking for beach, party, water activities and mountain tours, but their experience is nothing compared to those blessed individuals lucky enough to live here.

Most of the people I know (Mexicans, Canadians, Italians, people from USA, etc) came here for a job opportunity or just for some holidays. When the date of returning back was approaching, they came with some brilliant excuses to postpone their return. I won’t say they just want to stay here for the beach. It’s a mixture of the friendliness of the people living here, locals and adopted people. The facility that everywhere is almost in walking distance as a small town but also the access to world-class restaurants, attractions that even many big cities in México lack. Thus, it was very easy to set up a succesful business. At least that was in 2004 when my family started with their companies here. Now, after 2009, it has become a little bit harder.

Some have decided to go back. Some have decided to stay. For those staying, we need to work hard to create many more opportunities and attractions to keep tourists visiting and falling in love with our town. Puerto Vallarta is now 97 years old, but in city-years, it’s still quite young compared to other cities in the ancient world. Puerto Vallarta is young and beautiful and has many more city-years to mature and tell the world why it is so worthful!

Happy Birthday Puerto Vallarta and may you live many city-years more!

Sunset in Vallarta
Sunset in Vallarta

 

 

 

 

Puerto Vallarta, many years ago, when I was just a tourist.

Puerto Vallarta, many years ago, when I was just a tourist.

 

Bike riding with friends on Puerto Vallarta's mountains and valleys.
Bike riding with friends on Puerto Vallarta’s mountains and valleys.

Selfie in Puerto Vallarta

Snorkeling with Kids at "Los Arcos"
Snorkeling with Kids at “Los Arcos”
Zumba Class in World-Class hotel Velas Vallarta
Zumba Class in World-Class hotel Velas Vallarta

 

Leave a Reply

