Swinging Lessons

Swinging Lessons

A couple of weeks ago, Anel an L.A. style Salsa teacher friend from another academy was asking for English conversation sessions in exchange for Salsa lessons from her. I offered my help without expecting something in exchange. I was not really willing to learn “Salsa en línea” style. I’m totally Casinero (Cuban Salsa style)

However, as the English conversation sessions happened, I told her of my need to choreograph and perform something for the Party happening in J&B dancing club in 3 days. The dancing number I was expecting to show with my students from Shanti was not going to happen. Without hesitation she jumped to aid me.

Swing Pose
Anel & Israel ready for the Swing

Some months ago, I choreographed a nice Swing song called “Zoot Suit Riot” for the XV years old party of my dear student Rubi, so we decided to do a fresh couple version of this Swing number. Anel has never done a Swing before but she was very committed to learn.

3 days later, we got some clothes and did the number almost flawless. (We did have a mistake near the end of the song). I was not really expecting us to receive a brilliant answer from the audience. But most of the people cheered on us (Even the rival dancers who almost never say something).

I’m glad from this experience and I want to thank Anel for doing this number with me. I’m looking forward to continue the English lessons someday in the future. (At least she can practice by reading this.

 

Leave a Reply

